Choose Your Flavor

Choose Your Flavor

Anytime you do something for the first time, you move away from comfort and into adventure. Comfort and adventure are not enemies,but they most certainly do not hang out on weekends.

Comfort is a movie at home on the sofa. Adventure is a walk in a neighborhood whose architecture you love, but whose safety you question.  Comfort is swimming in the apartment’s pool; adventure is finding a spot by the river and tentatively easing into the water.

And that, my friends, is why I’m here. I often write from a place of comfort, but not adventure. I have lots to say,and often say it, but only to myself.  Now, I’ve decided to share what I’ve been saying in my head for a long time with anyone who’d like to read it.

All opinions expressed here are my own; they may be based on feelings or research (you should be able to tell); and they may challenge what you believe to be true about me, my family, the world, etc. That’s okay. I’ll try not to be mean or hateful, but I am by nature a sarcastic loudmouth, so if you are offended by strong opinion, this might not be for you.

I plan to address things that are important to me: teaching, high school, books, writing, transracial adoption, adoption in general, marriage, poetry, recycling and upcycling, random stuff I discover that I like, and parenting.  I will use the people I know and love as fodder for what I write, so if you think I’m writing about you, I might be.  If it offends you, let me know and I’ll get right on it. <–Sarcasm.   If I get the chance to get free stuff if I write about it, I’ll do it. My blog, my rules.

Gas Station Cappuccino as a place to write has been in the back of my mind for about ten years.  I’ve tinkered with the concept a lot and even had a blog under the same name for a few months.  I decided it wasn’t working for me at the time, and shut it down.

It was, and continues to be, a metaphor for my life. Most people dream about having an amazing, photogenic, House Beautiful, travel magazine kind of life. I used to.  Then I realized it wasn’t for me. I like expensive cars and houses and fancy dinners, but when it comes right down to it, I’m a gas station cappuccino kind of girl.  I like things that are found in the general day-to-day monotony of our lives.

The simple is the beautiful, in much the same way as gas station cappuccino is the perfect drink if you get it at just the right time.

One thought on “Choose Your Flavor

  1. So excited for you. You are an amazing writer. I envy your skill and passion and talent. I started a vlog to capture memories of my life … a series of movies so when I am 80 years old, I can look back and remind myself … I was something, wasn’t I?

    Like

Leave a Reply

